Visual Overlay
Photo of NIPNLG members at AILA 2022


Carol Weiss King & Daniel Levy Awards

Each year, during the annual National Lawyers Guild (NLG) convention (#Law4thePeople), we honor an individual with the Carol Weiss King Award, and an organization with the Daniel Levy Award. The Carol Weiss King Award was established in 1987 in memory of prominent U.S. lawyer Carol Weiss King (1895-1952), who specialized in immigration law and the defense of the civil rights of immigrants, and was a founding member of the NLG. The Daniel Levy Award was established in 2002 in memory of beloved scholar and nationally known defender of immigrant and refugee rights, Daniel Levy, who also authored the U.S. Citizenship and Naturalization Handbook.

Our Awardees embody the kind of fierce, bold immigrant advocacy and law that is the bedrock of the National Immigration Project.

Annual Elisabeth S. “Lisa” Brodyaga Award

In 2021, the National Immigration was proud to launch the Annual Elisabeth S. “Lisa” Brodyaga Award to honor one of its members for their outstanding work for immigrant rights.

The award is named after Elisabeth S. “Lisa” Brodyaga, a longtime National Immigration Project member whose career representing asylum seekers, other immigrants, and U.S. citizens spanned more than 40 years. In 1985, Lisa co-founded Refugio Del Rio Grande, a non-profit refugee camp and law office on a 45-acre wilderness near Harlingen, Texas. Lisa’s work resulted in numerous critical, pro-immigrant court decisions in tough cases and jurisdictions. 

Annual Impact Awards

Every year, the National Immigration Project presents its Impact Awards to partners and advocates for their outstanding contributions in the courts, arts, academia, law, and advocacy.